Costas M. Soukoulis

Distinguished Professor of LAS - Iowa State University
Frances M. Craig Endowed Chair - Iowa State University
Senior Physicist - Ames Laboratory - DOE

A519 Zaffarano Hall
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa 50011
Phone: 515.294.2816
Fax: 515.294.0689


A member of the Condensed Matter Physics Group of the Physics Department at Iowa State University and of the Division of Materials Sciences and Engineering of Ames Laboratory (a DOE facility).

Our research group's interest focuses on the development of a theoretical understanding of the properties of disordered systems, photonic crystals, metamaterials, left-handed materials, random lasers, random magnetic systems, nonlinear systems, and amorphous semiconductors. The theoretical models developed are often quite sophisticated to accurately reflect the complexity of real materials. In addition, we are completing experiments on metamaterials and photonic crystals.